Hans device, harnesses and Sparco Pro 2000

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hans device, harnesses and Sparco Pro 2000

Quick question for racers. I am trying to get my car ready for NASA GTS competition. I currently have a Sparco Pro 2000 seat. It is out of date but I will use a back brace. I know I need a Hans type head and neck restraint device. I went through the CCR and followed the links to the various approved devices for NASA competition. Would there by any problem using these types of devices with my current seat? Do I need different seat belts or can I still run 3" shoulder belts? How does it attach to my helmet, if at all, and do I need a different helmet? My helmet is a Bell and its about a year old.

Sorry for the vague newby kind of questions but I am new to all this safety equipment and would like to be educated by those who are more experienced.
    1986 Mercedes 190e 2.3-16 Cosworth: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JNJ-qVPBkU

I don't think any of the HANS options out there are dependent on the seat, so you should be fine there.

I don't know much about other brands, but if you buy a HANS brand device you really should go with a belt that has 2" solder straps like the Schroth Profi III-6 HANS. 3" belts are too wide for the HANS and there is a risk of them sliding off the side of the device during impact. If you already have a Schroth belt you can buy just the solder straps and don't have to get a whole new belt set.

The anchor points attach to your helmet. You don't need a special helmet and you can install the anchor points yourself. You just have to drill a small hole where the backing plate goes. When you buy a HANS it comes with the anchor points and detailed instructions on where to mount them.

Here's a writeup with good pictures