To Quaife or not to Quaife

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Quaife or not to Quaife

Looking for some feedback or opinions on whether to rebuild my stock 3.25 LSD centre or fit a Quaife or Torsen unit. The diff in my car has never been touched in it's 26yr life and I'm pretty sure it's not working anywhere near it's full capacity. I will be fitting either 3.73 or 3.91 gears in it at the same time.

Is the Quaife/Torsen idea a no brainer?

Cheers
    Aaron

"But most of all...
    ... I like the way you move......"

My understanding is quaife can unload(one wheel motion) on lift ie hopping rumble strips. Went to triple clutch packs on my 4.45 here.
    Photos

Comment

Another option...as if you needed one....is the O.S. Giken unit. It is a traditional clutch pack setup. I have been using it for several years now and love it...

I was in sort of a quandary in deciding whether to do Quaife of the Giken diff. Obviously I decided Giken...but I forget what my reasoning was....:cartman:

Comment

Street use only?

Comment

I'm happy with my Quaife for street and autocross use. Very easy to control the rear of the car with the gas pedal.

Comment

Originally posted by OZM3 View Post
            Street use only?

Only to drive it to the track.

"But most of all...

Comment

Originally posted by OZM3 View Post
              Street use only?
              So with the above in mind Dave, interested to hear your thoughts or opinions.

"But most of all...

Comment

I guess my comment is based on what you want to achieve using a {INSERT BRAND NAME DIFF} over the stock (rebuilt diff) v the $$$.

Comment

For the sake of a few hundred dollars is the "brand name" a better unit?

"But most of all...

Comment

Thats the question. I havent had a qaiffe so I can comment on their capabilties as in real life. By all accounts they are fairly decent. Do they require more maintenance? . Plenty of quick E30 M3's running around on tracks on stock diffs though.

Comment