10 years parked: resurrecting an '88

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 10 years parked: resurrecting an '88

Hi all, I've been kicking around the forum and driving my '88 DS for nearly 3 years now. I've shared my progress refurbishing that car and enjoying it over the last 12,000 miles in my very long and photo-heavy thread here:

https://s14net.vbulletin.net/forum/s...0-for-an-88-ds

These cars have a magnetic draw and I'm always keeping an eye on the market for an opportunity to snag another one, or at least some good parts. The story of this car begins for me in early December, when I found it listed on Craigslist in South San Francisco. You may have seen the ad - it was discussed a bit on the SIG list and the S14 Facebook group - featuring a few basic photos and describing the car as a barn find, survivor type of deal. Claimed to be ready for paint, the seller mentioned some other enticing aspects including all original parts and a motor that had been recently rebuilt.

The photos didn't give much to go on, but I called the seller and made arrangements to see the car. I wasn't sure what to expect going in, but when I arrived I was encouraged to see that the car, despite looking rough in photos, was actually very complete and even in running condition. This is what I saw on that first visit: