Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best Non-Synthetic for these cars?(To offset the synthetic thread)

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Non-Synthetic for these cars?(To offset the synthetic thread)

I've been running Valvoline 20-50 for a couple years with no (knock wood) problems.

I change the oil so much that synthetic is not really cost effective for me to go synthetic. I change it every month or so over the summer and first thing in the spring so that's 4-5 oil changes for 5K miles...

I change oil before each track event, that's why.

What type of regular oil are you guys that use regular oil using?

My PO had Frank Fahey change the oil and he swears by Kendall GT1 20W50...which is still in the car now...I wasn't sure if I was going to stick with it though.

Comment

Damn oil threads. I've spent countless hours reading them at bobistheoilguy.com over the years and there is no definitive answer. From what I've gathered, Castrol GTX is a premium dino oil with lots of Moly, Chevron Supreme is actually a decent oil (and often on sale for .99 a quart), basically all of the HM oils like Maxlife which may be part synthetic. I think BMW used Castrol GTX and Valvoline at the dealer back in the day before they had their own oil. All seem to agree that these oils are good for upto 5K miles. They would also ask why you're running such a thick oil? Hard to say what's "good" for the S14 without doing used oil analysis to be sure.

Personally, since cost is the only reason not to use synthetic. I try to catch them when on sale. You can run longer OCI's with a good synthetic which will actually save you money in the long run and the environment by not changing the oil as often.

88 M3 - LACHSSILBER/M TECH
      89 M3 - ALPINEWEISS II/SCHWARZ
      85 323I S52 - ALPINEWEISS/SCHWARZ
      91 M TECHNIC TURBO - MACAOBLAU/M TECH

Comment