Avg Maintainence in dollars per year

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Avg Maintainence in dollars per year

I've been thinking about purchasing an e30 m3 for about four years and I've taken many things into consideration when thinking about purchasing one. Something that I've always read and consiquently feared is the fact that the car is 16-19 years old and maintainence is going to be an unavoidable issue.

I was wondering if you guys could just give me some estimates or softnumbers on how much you spend a year on maintainence (preventative and required). If purchased, the car would be in California so winterization isn't a factor.

The reason I ask is because I'm currently a college student and my annual income is not alot and I don't to be drained dry by the car. Thanks for the imput.

most of the time if your asking these questions, its not the car for you. i on the other hand ignored this advice and paid the price. they are expensive, and old. bottom line. you cant half ass them, or they will bite you in the ass (ask me how i know). if you have another car to drive regularly they are a fun hobby. if they are a daily driver and your pretty broke they are a time bomb waiting to explode!

search "15k rule".

1990 M3/1998 M3 Sedan

Comment

I suggest to invest your money in school, then when time comes, get yourself a nice m3.
      :burn:RED DRAGON

Comment

15k rule is key, when it comes down to it you really get what you pay for.

I bought my car for 9k and now one year down the road i have dropped almost 4k into it, i have completely replaced the suspension, put in a new clutch, etc.

Spending money on this car is more mental than anything, I swear once i did one thing i saw something else and had to replace it, and it all snowballed from there.

You also save loads of money if you do repairs yourself, the car is fairly easy to work on and pretty straight forward.