Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

spark plugs, how do they look (img included)?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• spark plugs, how do they look (img included)?

What is there to tell about these spark plugs?

cilinder1

cilinder2

cilinder3

cilinder4

I had some issues lately with a malfunctioning O2-sensor and thus a rich running engine (CO > 1% at idle). After cleaning up the sensor the measured values where ok.

The engine is now running very badly and hardly keeps running at idle when cold.

No 4 looks oily? And they all look sooty to me, although im not a massive expert

Comment

They look rich and the last one is oil fouled. They are also the wrong plugs.

Look at this.

http://www.boschautoparts.com/NR/rdo...kplugfaces.pdf

Jordan
      "Never lift"

Comment

Originally posted by jordantii
        They look rich and the last one is oil fouled. They are also the wrong plugs.

Look at this.

http://www.boschautoparts.com/NR/rdo...kplugfaces.pdf

Jordan
        Thanks for the link. I'm about to do a compression test this week. Already wondering about cilinder 4 . . .

The plugs are Bosch X5DTC and as far as I know the correct type.

Marc

Comment

If you have access to the equipment try conductinbg a cylinder leakdown test as well.

Comment

Those are not stock plugs...

Comment

Originally posted by Bavarian3
              Those are not stock plugs...
              Well I'm sorry but ETK says:

BOSCH X5 DTC
              12 12 9 061 868

Maybe US-models do have other stock spark plugs? What type are you using?

Comment

Even though the stock plugs in the U.S. are the X5DC, the X5DTC are the specified plugs in some other markets. They are supposed to be equivalent (other than having the two other ground electrodes).

But I agree, #1-3 look very soothy, like the car has been running very rich, and #4 looks very oily. They should all be replaced with new ones.