Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Going to look at another M3, this might be the one.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going to look at another M3, this might be the one.

Hey everybody, I'm an newbie on this site and currently M3-less. Hopefully not for long. I've looked at about 1/2 a dozen M's and none of them have jumped out at me yet as my car. But i'm going to look at one this weekend that I have a strong feeling will be the car. Its quite a distance from my house, so I going armed with enough cash to buy it and a friends dealer plate to drive it home with. I've had plently of e30's in the past, but 325 e&i's and I realize how little the cars share in common. Now any advise you can give me on what to look for? The car I'm looking at is unmodifed/molested and from what i can tell in pretty nice shape. Its got 145k on it and is reported to have no rust(i'm pretty worried about rust being on the east coast) Where are some spots i should look for rust, other than the windshield frame and rear lp lights? rear shock towers? Anywhere else? Also, what else should I look for. Any advise is appreciated. Hopefully on saturday or sunday i can post up some pics of my new car!

Jeff
    REGISTER YOU M CAR IN THE M REGISTRY TO HELP TRACK ALL THE REMAINING E30 M3s
    http://www.bmwmregistry.com/registry.php

-inside the fender lip behind where the side skirt meets the body in the rear fenders.
    -top of the fenders near shock mounts in the rear
    -bottom of front fenders/rockers where sideskirt meets fender

Are you coming further North or South to look at the car?
    Depending which direction you're going, perhaps we can offer you a M3 specialty shop that can give the car a pre-purchase insp. and help point out any area's you may not be familiar with.

Best of luck, and dont get "pressured" into buying just because you have cash in hand.

Chris L.

Spray paint and tire shine doesn't equate to a "restoration!"

Comment