Stock vs Nology vs Magnecor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stock vs Nology vs Magnecor?

I going to be in the market for a new set of plug leads soon.
    So what are the advantages of the above non stock leads.
    I not expecting to gain bhp, but I've read about smoother running at idle, stuff like that.

So any advice or should I just stick with the stock ones?
    The Nologys do look sweet though :cool:
    "It's not the mountain we conquer but ourselves"

Nology's are controversial love/hate wires. I'm an Engineer and I hate hype, but use Nology's.

I dynoed stock versus Magnecor and Nology. On my car (WHICH NEEDS MORE SPARK ADVANCE)the Ns won by a 1-2 ponies across many but not all RPMs. They tend to act like a small amount of additional spark advance was added. If your motor does not want that, you can lose power. My motor is using a JC chip set up for a lower duration cam, so the spark advance is a hair off. The Ns like nonresistor plugs, look nice and fit well. If you buy Magnecors, get them from Gustave as he has a fantastic loom and matching cut and terminated M wires.

Subjectively the Ns felt snappier to me and the Ms felt smoother FWIW.

Stan

Comment

I don't really like the look of the Magnecor ones, there look kinda flimsy like you could pull ther lead out of the connector if your not careful, but I know that it's not all about how they look. I'm sure there fine.

Sounds like you have spend a lot of money on wires Stan!!!

I've got 284/276 cams and the car has been custom mapped as against an off the self chip. It sounds like there's not much in it.

I would probably buy them in the US and import them as there a ridiculous price over here . About $400 a set:grr:
      Sound bit of a lottery though, you just have to take your chances.

Comment

Us UK lot should have jumped on the Bimmerworld Group Buy for their plugs....