Carbon fiber replica of stock intake plenum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carbon fiber replica of stock intake plenum

So I see that there is a carbon fiber replica of the stock intake plenum available.

Has anyone here tried one?

Does it sound any different or is it purely for looks + weight reduction?

I have been wondering the same thing myself. I'd be interested in one just to take some of the weight off the intake gaskets.

Will
    '69 Datsun 2000 Roadster vintage race car (Street driven on a regular basis :taz
    '59 Alfa Romeo 101 Sprint (HUGE project :uhoh
    '88 M3

Comment

Many years ago Gustave was running one of those...I have no first hand knowledge of them however.

I am very confident you would hear more intake noise with one...just like you do with the normal CF airboxes. There would be no performance improvement. Weight reduction would also be a worthwhile goal, since the weight of the stock plenum is a factor in the life of the throttle body gaskets.

Comment

I thought it would be a decent upgrade for the weight on the TB gaskets as well, especially as the gaskets age.

I also donít know that Iím confident in the process of setting up Alpha N on my S14. So, I thought it might be a good compromise to get a CF replica plenum to maybe experience some of that DTM sound, and then maybe do a Split Second MAF, or similar.

Definitely would love to hear from anyone who has one of these CF replica plenums.

Comment

I have heard they sound similar. You're not going to get any HP gains from it without the Alpha N.

Here's some info.

https://splitsec.com/dm-class-e30-m3-race-car/

Comment

It's also worth noting the CF plenum will remain cooler vs. the aluminum plenum which is a heat sink and holds onto a lot of heat, warming the intake air.
            Chris L.

Spray paint and tire shine doesn't equate to a "restoration!"

Comment