VEMS Engine Management for an E30 M3

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VEMS Engine Management for an E30 M3

Does anyone here know anything about VEMS?

Via their Faceplant page, I asked if they were able to do a kit for an E30 M3, to which they said they had already done one.

Iím wondering if this would be a more modern option versus MAXX Alpha N with its archaic interface.

Definitely appreciate any info and opinions.

Two totally different systems. The MAXX is a piggy back computer that changes the new variable TPS signal to the old AFM signal and provides fueling required.

The VEMS is a complete stand alone system that will require custom engine harness and tuning.

T

Comment

Yeah, as Tony said it looks like a completely standalone EMS. That is cool to have and brings with it a lot of capability, but don't underestimate the time and cost of the wiring and tuning. Actually, the tuning never ends. I have been running standalone since about 2005, and I still tweek things here and there....LOL

Comment

Originally posted by Ironhead View Post
        Yeah, as Tony said it looks like a completely standalone EMS. That is cool to have and brings with it a lot of capability, but don't underestimate the time and cost of the wiring and tuning. Actually, the tuning never ends. I have been running standalone since about 2005, and I still tweek things here and there....LOL
        Bingo bango. Make sure you know what you are getting into or have a competent tuner who is willing to tweak things here and there.

I am having a new engine tuned on am engine dyno, but I know there will be drivability stuff to tweak, here and there, as the weather changes, and elevation, temperatures, track or street, shitty gas, etc etc etc

T

Comment

Originally posted by HANDBLT View Post

Bingo bango. Make sure you know what you are getting into or have a competent tuner who is willing to tweak things here and there.