CAE Ultra shifter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CAE Ultra shifter

I'm interested in hearing opinions from people who have used this shifter. How well does it work and does it hold up over time?

I've been using one for several years now.

I think it works well. If you are not aware, the way it works is to raise the pivot point for the shifter a couple of inches above the stock location. By doing this, it allows a tall (close to the steering wheel) shifter while still having a very short throw. It also has a strong "return to center" spring, which gives you a better feel for where in the shift pattern you are...the intent being to make missed shifts less likely. I think it does these things very well, shifting with it is very, VERY deliberate...takes a bit of effort....it is not a "flick of the wrist" style shifter. It is however very fast and very precise.

It is a hard mounted shifter....so it does introduce some additional NVH inside the car beyond what the stock style "isolated" shifters transmit.

As far as durability...mine is holding up fine...but my car is basically just a track car that is driven maybe 5K miles a year.

Last edited by Ironhead; 06-05-2019, 10:33 AM.

Comment

That CAE shifter looks pretty awesome, I didn't know they existed. The adjustable stops and centering spring look like they'll make a noticeable difference.
      - Did you go with their selector rod?
      - What are you running for engine/tranny mounts?

I tried the DTM shifter for a few years and didn't like it. It had same slop as a stock shifter but the taller lever actually made it feel worse. I also learned the hard way that moving the shifter pivot mount from the tranny to the tunnel requires solid, or at least semi-solid, drivetrain mounts. I was running 540 motor mounts at the time and under braking the motor would be pulled forward enough to cause the shifter to tilt back quite a bit.

Comment