320is information saught

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 320is information saught

Hello I the owner of an 89 325i in the market for a 320is, I love the understated looks, possibility of having a sedan with an S14. These are fairly unique and low production vehicles and I am familiar with the basics but would appreciate feedback from owners especially in the USA. Besides the obvious stroke difference, In what areas does the S14B20 differ from the S14B23, 25? If one wants can it be stroked out when a rebuild is needed?

If anyone is selling one stateside or overseas with good ability to ship please get in touch.

Thanks

I'm not a expert on the 320is but I'm sure that the s14b20 only really differs in the crank and pistons. It would be easy to compare differences on realoem by selecting a e30 m3 on one page and a 320is on another, and comparing part numbers for crank, rods, pistons, cams, and head.

I'm sure you could build a healthy 2.3 or 2.5 or even 2.7 out of a s14b20 core without much or any extra cost than a b23 to b25 build. A 320is with a built high performance s14 fitted would be a very desirable e30.

Comment

Thank you - that was my impression.

Good idea re: realoem. I compared at found

Block - hard to compare b/c 320is block listed as "block with pistons" M3 listed only block
      Crank - different on account of 72.6mm stroke
      Con Rods - different
      Pistons - bore identical, part numbers not likely because M3 had changes over time?
      Flywheel - same
      Head - same
      Cams - same

Finally - a number of these cars I'm looking at online seem to have no fan. Is this a common 'mod' either deleting or replacing the engine driven fan and clutch with an electric one?

Click image for larger version

Name:	1280x960.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	1284142

Comment

Here is one. http://enthusiastauto.com/qsearch/?i...orm_display=51