Help identify my car please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help identify my car please

Hello E30 M3 Gurus, I'm hoping someone on this forum may be able to help shed some light on my recently acquired 87 M3.
    I've been dreaming about owning one for many years, and after many other E30's, I've finally found a Japanese import locally in Australia where I live.
    I'll admit I've little experience with E30 M3's, and my limited knowledge has only very recently been acquired with the car.
    When using the many VIN decoders, my car always comes up as an AK01 built in December 1986, but the engine designation also always comes up as a 165Kw (220 HP) model.
    My understanding is that this engine was only available on the later 1988 model EVO 2. Is this correct?
    When originally looking at the car, the photos showed that the engine cover and plenum were finished with the Motorsport painted scheme. When I finally got to view the car in real life prior to purchasing, the owner told me he thought it looked "tacky" and had it painted back to the original wrinkle finish black. I should point out that he was not an M3 enthusiast, and knew nothing about his car that he could pass on to me, and had owned it for 6 years and added only 200km to the overall low km car.
    All of this information has left me confused as to what I actually have, and what it originally was.
    The car is in pristine original condition, with very low mileage and looks generally unmodified beyond wheels and exhaust, so I'm super happy to own it, whatever it is.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
    E30 M3 1986
    E30 Alpina C2 convertible 1986
    E30 325iS 1988
    E30 318i M50 SC swapped
    E46 M3 convertible 2004
    BMWS1000RR

Hi and welcome,
    Interesting about the online vin de code I just checked my 87 M3 type 1001 and some sites had it correct other sites said 1005 and the 147 kw was boosted to 158 kw.