upper radiator neck blew up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• upper radiator neck blew up

so I'm cruising along the highway coming home from work, and all of a sudden there's serious smoke coming out of my engine compartment. I immediately turn off the engine and drift to the shoulder. The upper radiator neck was almost totally gone, coolant was everywhere. Luckily I was able to get the hose on there and limp the car home, thanks to my dad who meet me on the side of the road with 2 gallons of coolant. The engine temp really only went up for like 20 seconds, it never got in the red, but came close. I hope I didn't do any damage. The car seemed to drive normally the rest of the way home which was only like 5 miles. Looks like I'll be ordering a new rad, hoses, and t-stat tomorrow. Good thing I sell parts for a living.

Jim at Maximillian

yes, the neck's are plastic and DO break. as you found out, the radiator is a wearable item. be careful when tightening down the hose clamps as you don't want to fatigue it any more than you have to
    James
    sigpic

Comment

Yea, mine broke the day after I finally got my car back together after a clutch change, RMS change, and new oil pan gaskets. Sucked big time. Glad no damage was done.

Comment