Announcement

Collapse

Session time has been extended...

Instead of 30 minutes, you will be logged into s14.net for 1.5 hours of inactivity before being logged-out. Also instead of having only 30 minutes to edit a post, it has now been extended to 60 minutes.
See more
See less

M3 Noise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• M3 Noise

Well, I'm a newB, but I've had my M3 (88, Alpine, 75K) for a few weeks now. It had hardly been run the last few years prior to my purchase, but it's the most fun I've had in a car since my teenage years!

After putting 1000 miles on the car, it has developed a knocking noise that seems to come from the transmission area. It starts at about 3200 rpm, gets louder on slight acceleration and disappears on deceleration. It doesn't vary with rpm, and rattles in regular cycles. The cycles don't increase or decrease with rpm. It occurs in every gear, and is only apparent once the car comes to operating temperature. Holding the Turner short shifter tightly doesn't make any difference. If the engine is revved up to 4000 rpm at a standstill, it doesn't make the noise. A/C on or off doesn't make a difference. The previous owner recently changed the transmission and differential with Redline MTL. The car has no leaks (amazing!) Engine oil level is fine.

About the same time this started, the tachometer started skipping. Rather than increasing smoothly with rpm's, it increases smoothly until about 3200 rpm (about when the knocking starts) then jumps up in stairstep fashion with rpm. In other words, it stops at 3200 rpm, then jumps to 3500, etc. as rpm's increase. Is there anything that could relate a transmission noise (assuming it's really coming from the transmission) with the tachometer? I've read most tach problems are related to dead batteries in the SI board but thought this was interesting. It may just be coincidental.