Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about tuning for a reliable 3 psi turbo build.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about tuning for a reliable 3 psi turbo build.

Hey guys,

So I've had my 89 M3 for close to 4 years now and am entertaining the idea of a small turbo build. Reliable and a little more quick.

I plan to pull my engine out to replace all the lower end bearings, replace the timing chain and tensioner rails etc and of course put in a multi layer head gasket with head studs and get the head/valves machined. I feel this would make a good platform for a small amount of boost.

Anything over 0psi makes a huge difference because an engine like ours is probably only like 80% volumetric efficient (guessing) so making it 100% is huge. So running maybe like a 3 pound spring in an external waste gate would allow me maybe like 30-40 more horsepower very reliably I would think.

I'm a BMW Tech and a welder too so I will do all this myself of course and feel as though I could pull off this build for hopefully less than $2000.

The only thing I'm not sure about is what the best method of tuning would be. I'm looking for something simple that works. I dont need any bells and whistles. Maybe some day if I want a 400hp car for some reason I will of course get serious and go the stand alone route. But for now I just want a little more power that I can still safely apply power in a corner without the risk of roasting the tires upon turbo spool.

Look forward to whats to come! Thanks for the input you guys have.
    Dan

For many reasons, I would personally never build a budget turbo system to run only 3psi. However, here are some ideas for tweaking your factory tune.

Step 1: Wideband AFR

Either of the following components individually will be able to tweak your tune to compensate for 3 psi. I would recommend adding fuel under boost conditions and not retarding any timing since that will yield more power.