215/40/17 vs 235/40/17 review

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 215/40/17 vs 235/40/17 review

I've been running 235/40/17 for about 10 years on my M3. So I got a set of 215/40/17 tires for my Style 5's yesterday and wanted to share my impressions since people always ask.

Pros: lightweight, cheaper, shows the rim better, doesn't rub, better acceleration, fits inside fender wells better so you can really dump the car low.

Cons: doesn't fill up the fender wells (good if you lower the car more/bad if you have too much fender gap), slightly smaller than stock diameter, not as wide as 235.

I really can't list too many things I don't like about them. If you don't need or use the wider contact patch of a 235, then it just doesn't make sense. For the street, it looks like 215/40/17 is the way to go.
    Last edited by Reelizmpro; 10-23-2009, 11:43 AM.

88 M3 - LACHSSILBER/M TECH
    89 M3 - ALPINEWEISS II/SCHWARZ
    85 323I S52 - ALPINEWEISS/SCHWARZ
    91 M TECHNIC TURBO - MACAOBLAU/M TECH

I agree with everything you said, except that 215/40/17 is the "proper" OD for a plus 2 upgrade from the stock OD with 15" BBS wheels and 205/55/15 tires. The 235/40/17 is off a wee bit (but who cares?) - they look awesome on the rear!

What spacer did you use on the fronts?

John

Originally posted by Reelizmpro View Post
    I've been running 235/40/17 for about 10 years on my M3. So I got a set of 215/40/17 tires for my Style 5's yesterday and wanted to share my impressions since people always ask.

Pros: lightweight, cheaper, shows the rim better, doesn't rub, better acceleration, fits inside fender wells better so you can really dump the car low.

Cons: doesn't fill up the fender wells (good if you lower the car more/bad if you have too much fender gap), slightly smaller than stock diameter, not as wide as 235.